Of the things you talk about as a new parent, diapers are a big one—up there with how well the baby is sleeping and eating. Are they making their daily wet diaper count? Are they producing several outfit-ruining blowouts every day or not pooping enough? And who will change that dreaded blowout diaper? Are those red marks just irritation or a full-blown diaper rash? Before my daughter was born in October 2019, I never thought this would be the subject of at least 50 percent of my conversations with my husband, but here we are. I also didn’t think I would be so anxious about the environmental impact of her diapers, which is why I was skeptical but intrigued by Andy Pandy Premium Bamboo Disposable Diapers. Could biodegradable diapers made of bamboo really hold a candle to plain-old Pampers or Huggies? Read on to find out. 

Design: Basic and durable

The main thing I appreciated about the Andy Pandy diapers right off the bat is that they’re biodegradable. I’m in a constant state of panic about climate change and considering that disposable diapers are responsible for 3.5 million tons of waste per year, watching my trash can fill up with diapers every day wasn’t exactly helping my anxiety levels. At the same time, I wasn’t ready to pull the trigger on cloth diapers—the amount of laundry involved sounds exhausting—and I’ve heard horror stories from friends whose babies developed terrible diaper rashes from cloth diapers because it wasn’t clear when the diapers were actually wet.  After one wear, I was sold on Andy Pandy. In addition to having a wetness indicator strip (a must for knowing when it’s time for a diaper change and preventing diaper rash), they provide excellent coverage from front to back. These diapers don’t include any fun designs like other diapers do, but I was actually okay with that, mainly because the lack of design made it a lot easier for me to see when she pooped. And if you ask me, the only thing worse than letting a baby sit in a wet diaper is letting her sit in a poopy diaper. 

Materials: Non-toxic and gentle

Andy Pandy diapers are made of naturally grown (no chemicals or pesticides used) bamboo fibers, have an aloe liner, and are incredibly soft to the touch. They are naturally hypoallergenic and perfect for sensitive skin, a claim we put to the test. We’ve been spared diaper rashes so far, but other diaper brands leave angry-looking red marks on my daughter’s sensitive skin. I was impressed by just how non-irritating these diapers were: Based on how little redness appears, they seem to leave her comfortable and moisturized even after wearing them all night long.  Andy Pandy is completely transparent about all of the diapers’ ingredients, which can give you added peace of mind as a new parent shopping for baby products. The diapers don’t contain latex, chlorine, alcohol, or phthalates like other brands do. The bamboo is 100 percent biodegradable, although the few other necessary materials, like Sumitomo sap and the adhesives and elastics, aren’t. Still, the manufacturer says that on average more than 60 percent of an Andy Pandy diaper will degrade in just 75 days. Scientists estimate that non-eco-friendly diapers take up to 500 years to degrade in landfills!

Absorbency: Blowout-proof

My daughter hasn’t ruined one outfit while wearing Andy Pandy diapers, making them the most blowout-proof diaper brand I’ve ever tried. This is great because doing extra laundry or even throwing out clothes isn’t exactly great for the environment either. These diapers are excellent at absorbing urine, too, and fill up in a similar way to other leading diaper brands. In addition to the wetness indicator PH strip, you can feel how full the diaper is by touching it or even looking at it through clothes or thick pajamas. Again, I’ve heard that not being able to tell how full a diaper is can be a huge problem with cloth diapers, so I was happy to see that this isn’t a problem with Andy Pandy. 

Price: On the expensive side

My only gripe with Andy Pandy diapers is their cost. The price will depend on the size you purchase, which ranges from newborn to XL (26+ pounds). My daughter’s newborn 50-pack has a list price of $18.95 on the manufacturer website but I’ve seen it a little higher on other online retailers. There is also a subscription option, which will save you some money on repeat orders. These diapers are definitely more expensive than other leading brands. Considering how many diapers my daughter goes through per week, I try to opt for the more cost-effective option when I can. That being said, I do understand that I have to pay a price for higher quality, non-irritating, and eco-friendly materials.  

Andy Pandy Premium Bamboo Disposable Diapers vs. Pampers Swaddlers 

Interested in reading more reviews? Check out our roundup of the best diapers. Whether your goal is to have less of a negative impact on the environment with your diaper use or you simply want a durable, high-quality diaper that will leave your baby’s skin soft and non-irritated, you can’t go wrong with Andy Pandy Premium Bamboo Disposable Diapers. If the price is too much for you, I’d suggest trying a combination of a more inexpensive diaper brand and Andy Pandy—trust me, you don’t want to miss out on these.