As part of postpartum recovery, you’ll experience postpartum bleeding that’s typically heaviest right after delivery (this much I knew). I planned to breastfeed but didn’t realize I’d have to deal with sore and painful nipples. Looking back, I wish I had prepared myself more, so I’m sharing my top five postpartum recovery items to add to your own (or your loved one’s) list. To buy: Always Discreet Boutique Underwear, $21; walmart.com (Small/Medium), amazon.com (Large), walmart.com (X-Large) The Always Discreet Boutique Underwear features an absorbent core that turns liquids into gels within seconds for leak-free protection. I loved the soft material that felt like real underwear and came in pretty patterns to make me feel “normal” again. The unique odor-lock technology was an additional bonus to neutralize odors throughout the day. To buy: Dermoplast Pain, Burn & Itch Relief Spray, $9; amazon.com, walmart.com Dermoplast is a best seller for a good reason—it provides immediate pain relief after delivery. The no-touch spray soothed, cooled, and moisturized my skin thanks to ingredients like Benzocaine, aloe, lanolin, and menthol. After the fourth trimester was over, I still used it for sunburns, insect bites, scrapes, cuts, stings, and burns. To buy: Lansinoh TheraPearl Breast Therapy Pack, $15; amazon.com, walmart.com, bedbathandbeyond.com These hot or cold gel packs relieve swelling, pain, and other breastfeeding discomforts. I preferred to store them in the freezer for immediate pain relief, but you can also pop them in the microwave for a warm-up. P.S. These paired well with the company’s hypoallergenic nipple cream for additional pain relief. To buy: Medline Deluxe Perineal Cold Packs With Adhesive Strip, $42; amazon.com  These aren’t your typical postpartum pads—they double as ice packs. Fold them in half until the inner water bag ruptures, and shake until cold. The cool relief was a godsend after delivery, and I loved the adhesive strip to help keep the pads in place. To buy: Golden Deer Peri Bottle, $8; amazon.com While the hospital sent me home with a peri bottle, it didn’t have a retractable nozzle with an angled neck like this option from Golden Deer. The water stream nozzle ensured easy cleaning and relief, while the 12-ounce capacity was just enough for multiple uses.